South Bend Empowerment Zone

In the spring of 2019, The Indiana State Board of Education approved the creation of the South Bend Empowerment Zone due to persistent and chronic low levels of student achievement and growth. The South Bend Empowerment Zone is comprised of Wilson, Warren, Harrison, and Coquillard Elementary schools, and Navarre Middle school. Our charge from the SBOE is to dramatically transform student achievement and growth at our schools over the course of the five-year intervention. 

The South Bend Empowerment Zone and its Zone Chief are directly accountable to a non-profit Board. The Board consists of both local independent and district members, allowing community voice a critical role in the process of transforming our neighborhood schools.

Refining Deeper Learning — Reimagining schooling

Year 1 (2019-2020)

Establishing a Vision/Building a Strong Foundation

Year 2 (2020-2021)

Building Systems of Support & Developing Community

Year 3 (2021-2022) 

Developing a Robust Enrichment Model (including NAEYC-Accredited Early Childhood Education and gifted/talented education)

Year 4 (2022-2023)   

Pursuing Deeper Learning/Reimagining schooling

Year 5 (2023-2024)  

Refining Deeper Learning/Reimagining schooling

The central philosophy of the South Bend Empowerment Zone

The centering of the student- and family- experience via the empowerment of leaders and educators at each school to respond to their needs in service to stronger academic, social, and emotional outcomes for our students.

South Bend Empowerment Zone
South Bend Empowerment Zone
South Bend Empowerment Zone

For more information regarding our strategic plan and current progress towards our goals, see SBEZ’s 2019-20 Annual Report.